Van Aert is aiming for the win in Tour of Flanders

Van Aert is aiming for the win in Tour of Flanders

On Sunday the Tour of Flanders is on the programme. The course of Flanders' most beautiful cycling race will be almost the same this year as last summer. Wout van Aert will be looking to win the 'Ronde' this year after finishing second last year (and after having won Ghent-Wevelgem).

This Sunday's Ronde is 254 kilometres long and has nineteen hills and seven cobbled sections. As in previous editions, the riders will have to tackle the Oude Kwaremont and Paterberg in the final.

Van Aert is looking forward to the course. "The pre-final is different this year than last summer. The first part of the Kwaremont and the extra cobbled sections make it a bit more difficult. In addition, it will be more meandering, because the Wall of Geraardsbergen is not included."

"I am mentally a bit fresher and I have confidence in my sprint."

Wout van Aert

The Belgian also feels strong and heads into Sunday with confidence. "I feel just as strong as last year, but mentally I am a bit fresher. Last year the Ronde was held just after the Tour; this year I was able to prepare well. The past races in Italy and Belgium have given me confidence. The E3 and Ghent-Wevelgem have been a good preparation, because the climbs and hills are different than in Italy. I also have confidence in the team that they can take me far. Last Sunday's victory gave a huge boost and the motivation is high with everyone. If it ends in a sprint like last year, I have confidence in my chances to win the race."


Sports director Arthur van Dongen: "After Wout's great victory in Ghent-Wevelgem we can be confident at the start of the 105th edition of the Tour of Flanders on Sunday. With Wout as our leader we have a chance to win the race. We will have to control the race as a team, position ourselves and also attack to create a good starting position. Wout has several assets to play."

Team Tour of Flanders

Wout van Aert

Nathan Van Hooydonck

Edoardo Affini

Pascal Eenkhoorn

Maarten Wynants

David Dekker

Timo Roosen

Related updates