Kruijswijk ready for Volta a Catalunya

Kruijswijk ready for Volta a Catalunya

Steven Kruijswijk will start on Monday as the leader in Volta a Catalunya. The Dutchman will ride with George Bennett and Sepp Kuss, who can both go for their own chances. A day later another delegation from Team Jumbo-Visma, led by Jonas Vingegaard, will participate in the five-day Coppi e Bartali stage race in Italy.

Volta a Catalunya

The 100th edition of Volta a Catalunya consists of seven stages. The race route includes a 21 kilometres individual time trial, three hilly stages and three mountain stages, two of which have an uphill finish. The most important stages for the classification riders are the time trial on the second day and the mountain stages on days three and four.

The leaders Kruijswijk, Bennett and Kuss are supported by a strong climbing team consisting of Robert Gesink, Chris Harper, Antwan Tolhoek and Koen Bouwman.

“I hope to be able to really compete in the general classification”, Kruijswijk says. “Paris-Nice was besides supporting Primoz also a race to get back into it.”


"We will start with a strong team and we are not inferior to other teams"

Grischa Niermann

Sports director Grischa Niermann looks ahead: “We have a strong team at the start and we are certainly not inferior to other teams. All three of our leaders will be able to go for their chances and try to achieve the best possible result in the general classification. They can count on the support of our climbers. The second, third and fourth stages are expected to be decisive for the general classification.”

Coppi e Bartali

A day after the start of the Volta a Catalunya, Jonas Vingegaard, Gijs Leemreize, Mick van Dijke, Michel Hessmann, Finn Fisher-Black and Rick Pluimers will start the Coppi e Bartali.

Team Jumbo-Visma has good memories of last year's edition. Olav Kooij and Pascal Eenkhoorn both won a stage in 2020.

Line-up Volta a Catalunya

Steven Kruijswijk

George Bennett

Sepp Kuss

Robert Gesink

Chris Harper

Antwan Tolhoek

Koen Bouwman

Line-up Coppi e Bartali

Jonas Vingegaard

Gijs Leemreize

Mick van Dijke

Finn Fisher-Black

Rick Pluimers

Michel Hessmann

Related updates